Friday, 16 July 2010

Weekly Netball Roundup

Australia and England have both submitted bids to IFNA to host the 2015 World Championships in Sydney and Manchester respectively. Australia last hosted the competition in 1991, while England played host in Birmingham in 1995. IFNA will announce which venue has been successful in Singapore at the 2011 World Championships.

Adelaide Thunderbirds are the 2010 ANZ Champions, after defeating the Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic 52-42 in front of a capacity 9,300 crowd at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre. Runners up in last year’s Grand Final, the Thunderbirds were in determined mood from the first whistle, and with Jamaican shooter Carla Borrego netting 13/14 in the first quarter, they led 15-8 at the first interval. Player of the match England defender Geva Mentor (pictured above) starved the Magic’s influential Irene Van Dyk (also pictured above) of consistent possession and with Adelaide’s smothering defensive tactics making it hard for the Kiwi side to build momentum, the home team lifted their first Championship title after three play-off appearances.

Following the conclusion of the championships, the world’s top two sides Australia and New Zealand have named their squads for 2010/11. After impressing in the Thunderbirds’ run to the ANZ Championship title, Adelaide’s Erin Bell and Sharni Layton are the two debutantes in Australia’s 22 player squad, and will now join the other 20 players at a selection camp ahead of the forthcoming internationals against New Zealand and Jamaica for which 12 players will be named. The full Australian Diamonds squad is: Caitlin Bassett, Emily Beaton, Erin Bell, Kate Beveridge, Madison Browne, Rebecca Bulley, Bianca Chatfield, Julie Corletto, Cath Cox, Susan Fuhrmann, Laura Geitz, Mo’onia Gerrard, Kimberlee Green, Renae Hallinan, Sharni Layton, Sharelle McMahon (Captain), Natalie Medhurst, Lauren Nourse, Susan Pratley, Kimberley Smith, Amy Steel, Natalie von Bertouch (Vice-Captain).

New Zealand’s selectors have named a seventeen player squad for 2010/11, which includes three former Silver Ferns – Daneka Wipiiti, Leana de Bruin and Anna Scarlett. The full Silver Ferns squad is: Liana Barrett-Chase, Leana de Bruin, Temepara George, Katrina Grant, Joline Henry, Charlotte Kight, Laura Langman, Cathrine Latu, Grace Rasmussen, Anna Scarlett, Anna Thompson, Maria Tutaia, Irene van Dyk, Casey Williams, Daneka Wipiiti. Wendy Frew and Camilla Lees have been named in the squad but will not be available for selection for the upcoming internationals, due to shoulder surgery and medical studies respectively. Shooters Jodi Brown and Paula Griffin made themselves available for selection at this time.

Defending champions Malaysia secured their fourth successive Asian Youth Championships title this week with a 63-39 win over Sri Lanka in the Grand Final. Singapore defeated the fast-improving India side 56-38 to take third place overall.

Guyana has named its first national squad since 2006, as the country works towards competing in the Caribbean World Championships qualifiers in 2012. Coached by Randolph Critchlow, the squad of 12 players contains no former internationals and, captained by centre Michelle Subrattie, will travel to Barbados in the next month to take part in a commercial tournament to assess its progress to date. To provide the squad members with increased domestic competition, Guyana Netball Association is also working to stage its first national championships in August

No comments:

Post a Comment